Patriarchy of change: Media coverage of Jason Collins as “first openly gay” pro athlete is silencing women

The Sin City Siren

First, let me say that I am excited about the announcement this morning by NBA free-agent Jason Collins that he is gay. The 12-year basketball veteran came out in a Sports Illustrated story published today saying:

“I didn’t set out to be the first openly gay athlete playing in a major American team sport. But since I am, I’m happy to start the conversation,” Collins wrote. “I wish I wasn’t the kid in the classroom raising his hand and saying, ‘I’m different.’ If I had my way, someone else would have already done this. Nobody has, which is why I’m raising my hand.”

I join the chorus in support of Collins for this move. I wish we didn’t have describe this as a brave act, but in 2013 we still do. Many athletes and fans took to twitter right away to voice their support, including Kobe Bryant (this may…

View original post 433 more words

