How do you think we can make men care about the damage sexism does?

zeeblebum

I was asked the question, “How do you think we can make men care about the damage sexism does?” on ask.fm.

Here’s my answer…

I’ve been thinking about this for a few days now, and I think that my answer is that I don’t really know. I guess I have a few ideas, but they all seem a bit vague, unoriginal and largely ineffectual. But anyway…

I feel that the first step would unfortunately have to be consciousness-raising – and I don’t mean of the damage that sexism does, but of the fact that sexism actually exists. So many men seem extremely resistant to accepting this. I think this would have to include both quantitative and qualitative evidence of how sexism manifests itself – but then I start thinking, “This consciousness-raising has been going on for centuries, and yet still the debate rages on.”

So…scrap that – men know that…

View original post 2,038 more words

