This Shade of Grey

Disrupting Dinner Parties

Trigger Warning: descriptions of verbal, mental, and emotional abuse. 

This is a guest post by Laura Brangan.

I recently listened to a story that discussed turning points in our lives. These moments that tear people’s lives in half, leaving them with separate lives before and after a distinct occurrence. I found the same to be true of my own story. My marriage exposed me to verbal, mental, and emotional abuse. This was an experience I never thought possible, one that forever changed me. I want to share this not as an accusation of my ex­-husband, but in hopes that women who are in similar relationships can see there is hope.

There are many forms of abuse in relationships. I was well educated about physical abuse. I knew what it looked like and knew that I would never be the victim of abuse. However, my first marriage taught me that abuse…

View original post 2,425 more words

